Fangirl.

The story of ‘Fangirl’ follows young Cather Avery beginning her freshman year of college. Cath’s identical twin sister, Wren, has decided to embrace the college experience with a new roommate, leaving Cath high and dry. Cath’s social anxiety escalates as well as her worry for her out of control sister and mentally ill father. The only thing that Cath has to comfort her in this new phase of life is the world of fandoms and fanfiction.

This is a book that I have been reading for quite some time. To be honest, it took me a while to get into but maybe that was because I was too busy stressing over college to see through my tears. Eventually I was able to control my tears long enfangirl-quoteough to be able to finish the book and I can honestly say that I LOVED IT!

Cath is one of the most relatable characters. Her introvert personality and love for reading and fanfiction really resonated with me. She also displays signs of anxiety which is also extremely relatable (especially if you have just been thrown into the scary world of college like I have).

Levi has to be one of my favourite characters of all time. He is everything that I want in a boyfriend and I will not stop searching until I find my Levi. Maybe Rainbow Rowell is giving me unrealistic expectations? Either way, Levi is a character that you will swoon over.

Fangirl is a heartwarming combination of young love and the rollercoaster of young adulthood. It covers all topics from mental health, college, family issues, new relationships and alcohol abuse. The fact that Rowell talks about so many important topics makes this book an essential to add to your reading list. Let me know what you think about this book in the comments!

-Nicole

4 thoughts on “Fangirl.

Leave a Reply

